

Council

Friday, 17 May 2019 2.00 p.m. Council Chamber, Town Hall, Moorgate Street, Rotherham. S60 2TH



WELCOME TO TODAY'S MEETING

GUIDANCE FOR THE PUBLIC

The Council is composed of 63 Councillors, who are democratically accountable to the residents of their ward.

The Council Meeting is chaired by the Mayor, who will ensure that its business can be carried out efficiently and with regard to respecting the rights and responsibilities of Councillors and the interests of the community. The Mayor is the Borough's first citizen and is treated with respect by the whole Council, as should visitors and member of the public.

All Councillors meet together as the Council. Here Councillors decide the Council's overall policies and set the budget each year. The Council appoints its Leader, Mayor and Deputy Mayor and at its Annual Meeting will appoint Councillors to serve on its committees.

Copies of the agenda and reports are available on the Council's website at www.rotherham.gov.uk. The public can also have access to the reports to be discussed at the meeting by visiting the Reception at the Town Hall. The Reception is open from 8.00 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. each day. You may not be allowed to see some reports because they contain private information and these will be marked accordingly on the agenda.

Members of the public have the right to ask questions or submit petitions to Council meetings. A member of the public may ask one general question in person which must be received in writing to the Chief Executive by 10.00 a.m. on the Friday preceding a Council meeting on the following Wednesday and must not exceed fifty words in length. Questions can be emailed to councilquestions@rotherham.gov.uk

Council meetings are webcast and streamed live or subsequent broadcast via the Council's website. At the start of the meeting the Mayor will confirm if the meeting is being filmed. You would need to confirm your wish not to be filmed to Democratic Services. Recording of the meeting by members of the public is also allowed.

Council meetings are open to the public, but occasionally the Council may have to discuss an item in private. If this occurs you will be asked to leave. If you would like to attend a meeting please report to the Reception at the Town Hall and you will be directed to the relevant meeting room.

FACILITIES

There are public toilets, one of which is designated disabled with full wheelchair access, with full lift access to all floors. Induction loop facilities are also available in the Council Chamber, John Smith Room and Committee Rooms 1 and 2.

Access for people with mobility difficulties can be obtained via the ramp at the main entrance to the Town Hall.

If you have any queries on this agenda, please contact:-

Contact:- James McLaughlin, Head of Democratic Services

Tel.:- 01709 822477

james.mclaughlin@rotherham.gov.uk

Date of Publication:- 9 May 2019

COUNCIL

Friday, 17 May 2019 at 2.00 p.m. Council Chamber, Town Hall, Moorgate Street, Rotherham. S60 2TH

THE MAYOR (Councillor Alan Buckley) DEPUTY MAYOR (Councillor Jenny Andrews)

CHIEF EXECUTIVE (Sharon Kemp)

MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL		
ANSTON AND WOODSETTS	<u>KEPPEL</u>	SITWELL
IRELAND, Jonathan C. JEPSON, Clive R. WILSON, Katherine M.	CLARK, Maggi CUTTS, Dave HAGUE, Paul	COWLES, Allen SHORT Peter, G. J. TURNER, Julie
BOSTON CASTLE	MALTBY	<u>SWINTON</u>
ALAM, Saghir MCNEELY, Rose M. YASSEEN, Taiba K.	BEAUMONT, Christine PRICE, Richard RUSHFORTH, Amy L.	CUSWORTH, Victoria SANSOME, Stuart WYATT, Kenneth J.
BRINSWORTH AND CATCLIFFE	RAWMARSH	VALLEY
BUCKLEY, Alan CARTER, Adam SIMPSON, Nigel G.	BIRD, Robert MARRIOTT Sandra SHEPPARD, David R.	ALBISTON, Kerry REEDER, Kathleen SENIOR, Jayne E.
DINNINGTON	ROTHER VALE	WALES
MALLINDER, Jeanette M. TWEED, Simon A. VJESTICA, John	ALLCOCK, Leon BROOKES, Amy C. WALSH, Robert J.	BECK, Dominic WATSON, Gordon WHYSALL, Jennifer
HELLABY	ROTHERHAM EAST	<u>WATH</u>
ANDREWS, Jennifer A. CUTTS, Brian TURNER, R. A. John	COOKSEY, Wendy FENWICK-GREEN Deborah KHAN, Tajamal	ATKIN, Alan ELLIOT, Jayne C. EVANS, Simon
HOLDERNESS	ROTHERHAM WEST	WICKERSLEY
ELLIOTT, Michael S. PITCHLEY, Lyndsay TAYLOR, Robert P.	JARVIS, Patricia A. JONES, Ian P. KEENAN, Eve.	ELLIS, Susan HODDINOTT, Emma READ, Chris
HOOBER	SILVERWOOD	WINGFIELD

MARLES, Steven

NAPPER, Alan D.

RUSSELL, Gwendoline A.

ALLEN, Sarah A. ELLIOTT, Robert W.

WILLIAMS, John

LELLIOTT, Denise

ROCHE, David J.

STEELE, Brian

Council Meeting Agenda

Time and Date:-

Friday, 17 May 2019 at 2.00 p.m.

Venue:-

Council Chamber - Town Hall, Moorgate Street, Rotherham. S60 2TH

1. ELECTION OF CHAIR

To elect a Mayor and Chair of the Council for the 2019-20 municipal year.

One nomination has been received:-

"That Councillor Jenny Andrews be elected Chairman of the Rotherham Borough Council for the ensuing municipal year and that she be entitled to the style of Mayor by virtue of Section 245(1) of the Local Government Act 1972."

Proposer – Councillor Rushforth

Seconder – Councillor Walsh

2. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING MAYOR (COUNCILLOR ALAN BUCKLEY)

A motion for a vote of thanks to the retiring Mayor has been received:

"That the Council tender its sincere thanks to Councillor Alan Buckley for the excellent manner in which he has carried out all his duties as Mayor of the Metropolitan Borough of Rotherham. And that the best thanks of this Council be recorded for the kind and admirable way in which Mrs. Sandra Buckley performed the duties of Mayoress and her exceptional support during the year."

Proposer – Councillor Taylor

Seconder – Councillor McNeely

3. PRESENTATION OF THE PAST MAYOR'S PENDANTS

The new Mayor to formally present the retiring Mayor and Mayoress with their past Mayor's pendants.

4. ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIR

To elect a Deputy Mayor and Vice-Chair of the Council for the 2019-20 Municipal Year.

"That Councillor Ian Jones be elected Vice-Chairman of the Rotherham Borough Council for the ensuing municipal year and that he be entitled to the style of Deputy Mayor by virtue of Section 245(1) of the Local Government Act 1972."

Proposer – Councillor Clark

Seconder - Councillor Jarvis

5. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

To receive the apologies of any Member who is unable to attend the meeting.

6. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

To invite Councillors to declare any disclosable pecuniary interests or personal interests they may have in any matter which is to be considered at this meeting, to confirm the nature of those interests and whether they intend to leave the meeting for the consideration of the item.

7. APPOINTMENT OF MAYOR'S CADETS

To note the appointment of the Mayor's Cadets for the 2019-20 municipal year.

SHARON KEMP, Chief Executive.

The next meeting of the Council will be on Wednesday 22 May 2019 at 2.00 p.m. at Rotherham Town Hall.